Chunky by FelipeFS
Chunky by FelipeFS
GPWiki.org
It is currently Mon Dec 22, 2014 9:08 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2011 4:36 am 
Source Code Swashbuckler

Hello everybody. I'm developing a great game engine(to make comparison, its like Game Maker, Construct, and RPG Maker) at the moment, the main part, to generate source code, syntax analysis (which includes a scripting language that I created), and compilation is out in many ways. The programming is not the problem for me. I'm developing with Free Pascal and Delphi. It's pascal, but as I am a C++ programmer too(and any code presented here for anyone will be welcome), I guess it's better to ask this question to programmers of a lower level language.

At the present time I am in dilemma about how the images of sprites will be stored after the compilation of the game(I mean this dilemma is about the design of how the game engine will work about this):

- Using resource files *. res
Using this method means faster conclusion in the process of completing the game engine, since it will not have to program a specific file type that stores images. But using this method, when the game under development is built, the images will be embedded in the executable (*. exe), increasing the initialization time of the game, and the amount of memory used (because I do not intend to use the class TResourceStream to open an external *. res file, that would leave the *. res exposed to the end user, which could be manipulated).

- Using an own file type *. dat